About the Awards


Entry forms must be completed in full and be attached to the front of every entry

  • There is no fee to enter the awards. Any entry not fulfilling the criteria stated herein may be disqualified.
  • Entries opens on Friday, May 2023 at 08:00 and close on Monday  31 July 2023. Late entries will not be accepted
  • Entrants can submit entries to all five categories
  • All submitted material must have been published between 1 March 2020 and 31 April 2023.
  • Submitted material must have appeared in a South African publication.
  • A maximum of three (3) published articles per entrant is permitted.
  • Entrants must submit background information and a strong motivation letter to the judges as to why they believe the submitted material deserves to win – this is essential for all entries and will be judged against the strict criteria set out for each entry.
  • If you are submitting hard copies, please provide ten (10) identical copies of each entry for category 1, 2, 3 & 4.
  • Those entering the Best Newcomer of the Year category must enter as individuals and must have worked in any newsroom for three years or less. They must submit a portfolio of work (maximum three pieces from within the competition period) together with a strong motivation letter and a CV.
  • Category 5 will only apply to property news websites.
  • Every entrant in category 5 must provide the website address and login details, should they be required. The website will be judged on current site at time of adjudication
  • Authenticity of submitted material must be verified.
  • All submitted material will not be returned.
  • The judges’ decision is final.